Great Canadian Stash-Busting Quilt Bee 2015

In November of 2014, I was poking around for a quilt bee I could join in the New Year. All of the bees that had any room left weren’t really my style or were long distance bees (which meant expensive shipping costs).

I decided to try to start my own bee and open it up to modern Canadian quilters only. As members trickled in, I started to worry that the whole thing would flop and I would have to disappoint the few quilters who had joined up. Boy, was I wrong! The first person to join was an incredibly talented  quilter who is part of a modern quilt guild in Alberta. I emailed to see if she knew anyone who might be interested in joining. Between her contacts and the guild I belong to (Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild), we filled up our roster in less than a month and had others asking if they could join in on the next round! It was a complete shock to me, but it reminded me of the wise words of Wayne Gretzky:

“You’ll always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

So here we are in February and I have made a block for Stacey, using this tutorial:

16276339812_c1814775f1_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a block for Jera, using this tutorial:

16539322421_94791e4e98_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My January blocks have all arrived and now comes the fun/excruciating part of deciding how they should be placed on the quilt top. I’ll update as I go in Starts and Finishes.

If you want to keep up on our progress, or you’re interested in joining in the next round (July 2015) check out our Flickr page.

♥ H+F

Leave a Reply

